Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You may find a small number of resources that touch on all aspects of your topic. A more likely scenario is that you will find resources that address one aspect of your topic etc. You will take these separate resources and craft new insights or knowledge.
LION (Literature Online)
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
1920 - present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1949 - present.An index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religious studies including all the major faiths. Some multimedia citations are available.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Film Index International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, Film Index International indexes entertainment films from over 170 countries. Includes information on films, personalities and scholarly works related to film studies.
American Film Institute Catalog (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and detailed national filmography, the AFI Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United States from 1892 to 1971, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum. Presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).
Art History Resources on the Web This link opens in a new window
Links to extensive resources for the study of art history.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1974 - present. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition review on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960's.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1973 - present. Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship for European art from late antiquity to present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Also includes coverage of painting, sculpture, drawing, folk art, antiques and other visual art in all media. Previously Bibliography of the History of Art.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, and reference works across many Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
The Arts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).
Some print books that are currently unavailable from the library can be accessed through our Hathi Trust Emergency Temporary Access agreement.
To take advantage of this temporary expanded access:
Visit HathiTrust Digital Library and click the yellow “LOG IN” button.
Select “University of California, Merced” and log in using your UCMNetID.
Search the HathiTrust digital library to locate the item you wish to view. (Be sure to choose the Catalog search option—not the “Full-text” option—in order to access all the books available via HT ETAS.)
Click on the Temporary Access link at the bottom of the record to Check Out the item through the Emergency Temporary Access Service.
You can view the materials from anywhere with an internet connection—no VPN or special setup is required. (Please read this user guide for detailed instructions on accessing the materials from your computer.)
This ten-minute video (available via YouTube) demonstrates how to search for and access books available via HT ETAS.