When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.
Includes thousands of historical articles and books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture as well as over 100 newspaper titles and books on Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries Written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
Find more videos on other Latin American countries: www.pbs.org/show/passport-latin-america
Encyclopedia of Mexico : History, Society & Culture by
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture from ancient civilizations to the present day.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Aztec and Maya by
This book offers enthralling insights into the history, mythology legends of the peoples of Mesoamerica, lavishly illustrated throughout.
Mexico : an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history by
A concise overview of 20th and 21st century Mexico, this volume explores the political, economic, social, and cultural history of the world's largest Spanish-speaking country.
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by
From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities. Emerging from the fusion of Spanish, North American, and African cultures, it has always been part of the American mosaic. Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Included are more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries written by roughly 60 expert contributors. While most of the entries are on writers, such as Julia Alvarez, Sandra Cisneros, Lorna Dee Cervantes, Oscar Hijuelos, and Piri Thomas, others cover genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines. Special attention is given to the cultural, political, social, and historical contexts in which Latino literature has developed. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography.
Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. The encyclopedia gives special attention to the social, cultural, historical, and political contexts of Latino literature, thus making it an ideal tool to help students use literature to learn about history and cultural diversity.
The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by
The nearly 1,400 articles in this volume cover all the major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. From 16th-century Spanish colonial architects such as Fray Andres San Miguel to European explorers such as Alexander vonHumboldt to contemporary artists such as Debora Arango, the entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures.
Pop Culture Latin America! by
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature by
This is the first comprehensive history of Spanish literature to be published in English since the 1970s. It brings together experts from the USA, the United Kingdom, and Spain. Together, the essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The classics of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are covered, from Berceo, Cervantes and Caldern to Garca Lorca and Martn Gaite, but attention is also paid to lesser known writers and works. The chapters chart a wide range of literary periods and movements. The volume concludes with a consideration of the influences of film and new media on modern Spanish literature. This invaluable book contains an introduction, more than fifty substantial chapters, a chronology (covering key events in history, literature, and art), a bibliography, and a comprehensive index for easy reference.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature by
Volume 1 begins with pre-Columbian traditions and the first contact with European culture, and continues through to the end of the nineteenth century. New World historiography, epic poetry, theater, the novel, and the essay form are among the areas covered in this comprehensive and authoritative treatment.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by
Latin American culture has given birth to numerous dramatic works, though it has often been difficult to locate information about these plays and playwrights. This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. The volume begins with an overview of the development of theater in Latin America. Each of the country sections begins with an introductory survey and concludes with copious bibliographical information. The entries for playwrights provide factual information about the dramatist's life and works and place the author within the larger context of international literature. Each entry closes with a list of works by and about the playwright. A selected, general bibliography appears at the end of the volume.
The Affinity of the Eye by
In The Affinity of the Eye: Writing Nikkei in Peru, Ignacio L#65533;pez-Calvo rises above the political emergence of the Fujimori phenomenon and uses politics and literature to provide one of the first comprehensive looks at how the Japanese assimilated and inserted themselves into Peruvian culture. Through contemporary writers' testimonies, essays, fiction, and poetry, L#65533;pez-Calvo constructs an account of the cultural formation of Japanese migrant communities. With deftly sensitive interviews and comments, he portrays the difficulties of being a Japanese Peruvian. Despite a few notable examples, Asian Peruvians have been excluded from a sense of belonging or national identity in Peru, which provides L#65533;pez-Calvo with the opportunity to record what the community says about their own cultural production. In so doing, L#65533;pez-Calvo challenges fixed notions of Japanese Peruvian identity. The Affinity of the Eye scrutinizes authors such as Jos#65533; Watanabe, Fernando Iwasaki, Augusto Higa, Doris Moromisato, and Carlos Yushimito, discussing their literature and their connections to the past, present, and future. Whether these authors push against or accept what it means to be Japanese Peruvians, they enrich the images and feelings of that experience. Through a close reading of literary and cultural productions, L#65533;pez-Calvo's analysis challenges and reframes the parameters of being Nikkei in Peru. Covering both Japanese issues in Peru and Peruvian issues in Japan, the book is more than a compendium of stories, characters, and titles. It proves the fluid, enriching, and ongoing relationship that exists between Peru and Japan.
El Espejo Enterrado by
Este ensayo del gran autor mexicano fue concebido originalmente como guión para un programa de televisión y más tarde se convirtió en un ensayo indispensable para mirar y analizar con lucidez la historia a partir del descubrimiento de América. El encuentro de dos mundos, como ha sido llamado, también revistió el carácter de una cruenta conquista militar y del nacimiento de una nueva cultura con raíz aborigen y española. El autor reflexiona sobre las magníficas civilizaciones prehispánicas, sobre los soldados y sacerdotes que llegaron a América, sobre la conquista y la colonización, para finalmente fijar la mirada en el presente. A lo largo de esta crónica va surgiendo la imagen de un vasto mundo cultural hispánico, en el cual los pueblos de América y España pueden reconocer una identidad, una historia y un destino comunes.
Latin American Music Reader by
Javier F. León and Helena Simonett curate a collection of essential writings from the last twenty-five years of Latin American music studies. Chosen as representative, outstanding, and influential in the field, each article appears in English translation. A detailed new introduction by León and Simonett both surveys and contextualizes the history of Latin American ethnomusicology, opening the door for readers energized by the musical forms brought and nurtured by immigrants from throughout Latin America. Contributors: Marina Alonso Bolaños, José Jorge de Carvalho, Maria Ignêz Cruz Mello, Gonzalo Camacho Díaz, Claudio F. Díaz, Rodrigo Cantos Savelli Gomes, Juan Pablo González, Javier F. León, Rubén López Cano, Angela Lühning, Jorge Martínez Ulloa, Julio Mendívil, Carlos Miñana Blasco, Raúl R. Romero, Iñigo Sánchez Fuarros, Carlos Sandroni, Carolina Santamaría Delgado, Helena Simonett, Rodrigo Torres Alvarado, and Alejandro Vera.
Paula by
Paula is a soul-baring memoir, which, like a novel of suspense, one reads without drawing a breath. The point of departure for these moving pages is a tragic personal experience. In December 1991, Isabel Allende's daughter, Paula, became gravely ill and shortly thereafter fell into a coma. During months in the hospital, the author began to write the story of her family for her unconscious daughter. In the telling, bizarre ancestors appear before our eyes; we hear both delightful and bitter childhood memories, amazing anecdotes of youthful years, the most intimate secrets passed along in whispers. Chile, Allende's native land, comes alive as well, with the turbulent history of the military coup of 1973, the ensuing dictatorship, and her family's years of exile. As an exorcism of death, in these pages Isabel Allende explores the past and questions the gods.
Isabel Allende relates some of the events in her life, including the death of her daughter Paula, and her life in Chile.
Vivir para Contarla by
Vivir para contarla is the extraordinary story of Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s early life. It is a recreation of his formative years, from his birth in Colombia in 1927, through his evocative childhood to the time he became a journalist. The Nobel laureate offers us the memory of his childhood and adolescence, the years that shaped his creative imagination, and, with time, would become the basis of the fiction that makes up much of twentieth-century literature in Spanish and indeed the world. In these pages Garcia Marquez reveals the echoes of peoples and stories that we meet in One Hundred Years of Solitude, Love in the Time of Cholera, No One Writes to the Colonel, and Chronicle of a Death Foretold. Vivir para contarla is a guide to readers of his entire work, an indispensable companion to many unforgettable passages which, with the reading of this memoir acquire a new perspective. The description from the book: Vivir para contarla es, probablemente, el libro más esperado de la década, compendio y recreación de un tiempo crucial en la vida de Gabriel García Márquez. En este apasionante relato, el premio Nobel colombiano ofrece la memoria de sus años de infancia y juventud, aquellos en los que se fundaría el imaginario que, con el tiempo, daría lugar a algunos de los relatos y novelas fundamentales en la literatura en lengua española del siglo XX. Estamos ante la novela de una vida a través de cuyas páginas García Márquez va descubriendo ecos de personajes e historias que han poblado obras como Cien años de soledad, El amor en los tiempos del cólera, El coronel no tiene quien le escriba o Crónica de una muerte anunciada y convierten Vivir para contarla en una guía de lectura para toda su obra, en acompañante imprescindible para iluminar pasajes inolvidables que, tras la lectura de estas memorias, adquieren una nueva perspectiva.
Obras completas de Octavio Paz by 
En Otra Voz : antología de la literatura hispana de los Estados Unidos by
This first Spanish-language anthology brings together literature from the entire span of U.S. Hispanic writing from the age of exploration to the present.
Don Quijote de la Mancha. Primera Parte by 
Don Quijote de la Mancha. Segunda Parte by 
Diego Rivera the Red by
Cultural Writing. Biography. Art History. Latino/Latina Studies. Translated from the Spanish by Dick Gerdes. In this English translation of the colorful recreation of the childhood and early adulthood of Mexican muralist Diego Rivera, his daughter Guadalupe Rivera Marin explores the ideological and artistic development of a revolutionary painter. Rivera Marin begins with a pivotal trip that Diego took with his father at the age of six and continues through his travels in Europe, prior to his return to Mexico, where he would later marry Frida Kahlo and found the muralist movement. Originally published in Mexico but never before available in English, DIEGO RIVERA THE RED also features portraits of significant historical, political, and artistic figures.
Frida Kahlo by
Behind Frida Kahlo's portraits, lies the story of both her life and work. It is precisely this combination that draws the reader in. Frida's work is a record of her life, and rarely can we learn so much about an artist from what she records inside the picture frame. Frida Kahlo truly is Mexico's gift to the history of art. She was just eighteen years old when a terrible bus accident changed her life forever, leaving her handicapped and burdened with constant physical pain. But her explosive character, raw determination and hard work helped to shape her artistic talent. And although he was an obsessive womanizer, the great painter Diego Rivera was by her side. She won him over with her charm, talent and intelligence, and Kahlo learnt to lean on the success of her companion in order to explore the world, thus creating her own legacy whilst finding herself surrounded by a close-knit group of friends. Her personal life was turbulent, as she frequently left her relationship with Diego to one side whilst she cultivated her own bisexual relationships. Despite this, Frida and Diego managed to save their frayed relationship. The story and the paintings that Frida left us display a courageous account of a woman constantly on a search of self discovery.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
