Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education News (Individual Sources)
A news source intended for educators with a strong focus on technology.
Inside Higher Ed
a newspaper written for those working in higher education yet articles often address issues related to students, learning, and a variety of other topics related to education
A news source employing experts to write on a variety of subject. There is a section on Education.
News Databases (Multiple Sources)
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
New York Times Online (UCM Full Access)
Provides subscriber-level digital access to NYTimes.com from 1851 to the current day, along with video, multimedia and multi-language articles. One-time activation required with annual re-authentication. To access the web version, Register
. Search for Merced and select University of California, Merced. Proceed with creating an account. Each user must register while on campus or through the VPN and must use a UC Merced email address. After you have registered, you can log in from the NYTimes.com site even if you are not on the UC Merced network. For directions on authentication, please consult this Activation Guide
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Previously LexisNexis Academic.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
You can create an account and then sign up for curated Newsletters. You must be on the VPN.
Access Troubleshooting: Clear your browser cache or try an alternate browser.
When on the VPN, you will see a message that the license is provided by the University of California.
More About Newsbank
Newsbank includes college/university newspapers.
- Conduct a search.
- Look at Source Types. You may have to click More Options.
- Locate College/University Newspaper.