Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Sociology 195 (Golash-Boza) : Home

Research Goals

Locate articles published from 1940 to the present on housing projects in Washington, DC.

Today's approach: 

  • Part I: Getting Started / Access
  • Part II: Newspaper Databases & Sources
  • Part III: Additional Tools
  • Part IV: Wrap-up

Database check: Do you have a favorite "go to" database for locating articles or research?

  • If yes, what's the database?
  • Not yet! 

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and eBooks from off campus. 

Click UC Merced VPN Installation Instructions (all devices) for instructions.

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

Problems with installing or connecting? 

Accessing Full-Text

When looking at articles in a database, full-text may be immediately available via a PDF or HTML page. If not, use the UCeLinks button. 

Here's an example of an article you would need to use UC-eLinks to get the full text:

Improving Underperforming Schools

If UC-eLinks doesn't give you any options to read the full-text online, you can Interlibrary Loan (ILL) the item using your UCMnetID. Select the Request from the Library option in the UC-eLinks menu. 

VIDEO: Requesting a Full-Text Article through UC-eLinks

 

(UC Merced Library, 1:34).

Have an article you want to read that isn't available in full-text through the library databases?

Learn how to request the full-text of articles through UC-eLinks.

Librarian

Elizabeth Salmon's picture
Elizabeth Salmon
Contact:
KL 275
Library Office Suite
209.631.6954
Website