Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology 15 (Mireles)

Sociological Research Methods

Welcome

Dear Sociology 15 students, 

Hello! I'm Elizabeth Salmon, Research Services Librarian at UC Merced. On Tuesday 2/1, I'll join your class to provide a research strategy workshop to help prepare you for your Soc 15 projects. 

Before February 1st:

We will begin the library workshop with a review of the information presented in the tutorial and video. Hope everyone's semester is off to a good start! Elizabeth

LibWizard Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts Tutorial

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Results for Using Sociological Abstracts" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> https://ucmercedlibrary.libwizard.com/f/sociological_abstracts

Using Citation Trails to Find MORE Resources

Use an article's citations trails to find more information related to your research. This video will show you how to locate an article's citation trails in Web of Science, Google Scholar, and UC Library Search. (3 min.)

Tutorial Review

To participate in the review, go to: https://www.menti.com/bjh7ju9k7r