LibGuides: Finding, Researching, and Using Primary Resources: Online Archival Databases

UC Merced Library	8am – 4:30pm
Services Desk	8am – 4:15pm
Writing Center	–
IT Express	–
GIS Center (KL 330)	–
Gonella Discovery Room - Data Lab (KL 260)	–

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a mix of digitally born and digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books. Its most notable feature is the systemic capture of websites as they exist and function at the time of their capture, called the Wayback machine. It has been actively capturing websites since 1996.

Archivegrid

ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies. This is predominantly covering institutions found within United States.

Worldcat

Worldcat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 15,600 libraries in 107 countries. Worldcat will allow users to search for primary resources specifically. In order to do so, you need to change the settings. First step is to click on the advanced searching tab. Look for “Format” sections and select “Archival Material”. Then proceed with your selected search term.

California State Archive

The California State Archives is responsible for the management and preservation of state government records. Within the more than 300 million items in its collections are documents from the state's first constitutional convention in 1849, land grant records of the Spanish and Mexican eras, campaign contribution statements, State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal case files, legislative committee files, original laws, papers of many of the state's leading politicians, and large collections of photographs, maps, drawings, and audio/visual materials.

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress. As a result, it is the home of the US Copyright Office, Congressional Records, and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings. There is a plethora of resources such as House and Senate Documents, Senate Executive Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents that can be utilized in several research projects.

National Archives and Records Administration

The National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) is the Federal Government’s repository of essential and historical records. This catalog searches through all NARA’s locations. To have search results must revelation it to you, search the NARA facility that oversees the region that the desired government agencies located.

The picture of the splash page for the website of The Online Archives of California

Online Archive of California (OAC)

This online database has descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California. The OAC has comprehensive online collection guides posted making it easier to find specific collections or records. Each entry has detailed descriptions of materials within a collection, background, and historical studies. If the host institutions have digitized material that can be viewed online, they have a direct link for easy access.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a mix of digitally born and digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books. Its most notable feature is the systemic capture of websites as they exist and function at the time of their capture, called the Wayback machine. It has been actively capturing websites since 1996.

Archivegrid

ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies. This is predominantly covering institutions found within United States.

Worldcat

Worldcat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 15,600 libraries in 107 countries. Worldcat will allow users to search for primary resources specifically. In order to do so, you need to change the settings. First step is to click on the advanced searching tab. Look for “Format” sections and select “Archival Material”. Then proceed with your selected search term.

California State Archive

The California State Archives is responsible for the management and preservation of state government records. Within the more than 300 million items in its collections are documents from the state's first constitutional convention in 1849, land grant records of the Spanish and Mexican eras, campaign contribution statements, State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal case files, legislative committee files, original laws, papers of many of the state's leading politicians, and large collections of photographs, maps, drawings, and audio/visual materials.

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress. As a result, it is the home of the US Copyright Office, Congressional Records, and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings. There is a plethora of resources such as House and Senate Documents, Senate Executive Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents that can be utilized in several research projects.

National Archives and Records Administration

The National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) is the Federal Government’s repository of essential and historical records. This catalog searches through all NARA’s locations. To have search results must revelation it to you, search the NARA facility that oversees the region that the desired government agencies located.

Online Archive of California (OAC)

This online database has descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California. The OAC has comprehensive online collection guides posted making it easier to find specific collections or records. Each entry has detailed descriptions of materials within a collection, background, and historical studies. If the host institutions have digitized material that can be viewed online, they have a direct link for easy access.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a mix of digitally born and digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of books. Its most notable feature is the systemic capture of websites as they exist and function at the time of their capture, called the Wayback machine. It has been actively capturing websites since 1996.

Finding, Researching, and Using Primary Resources

24/7 Chat With a Librarian

Online Archival Searching

Databases

Internet Archive

Archivegrid

Worldcat

California State Archive

Library of Congress

National Archives and Records Administration

Online Archive of California (OAC)

Internet Archive

Archivegrid

Worldcat

California State Archive

Library of Congress

National Archives and Records Administration

Online Archive of California (OAC)

Internet Archive