Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Search Tools
Mason OER Metafinder
Search across 16 OER repositories including BCcampus, Merlot, OER Commons, Open Textbook Library and OpenStax.
CSU ISBN Search Tool
Enter the ISBN of a commercial textbook to discover related OER including open textbooks and open courses.
Selected OER Repositories
CSU's MERLOT is a peer-reviewed collection containing tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials including textbooks, course curriculums, presentations, assignments and teaching and learning materials.
This catalog contains thousands of college-level open textbooks and OERs from higher education institutions around the world. Good starting point in your OER search.
Tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into textbook-style books in a host of disciplines; can be used with OpenStax textbooks.
Resource network with links to finding textbooks, content, images and video.
Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities, includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures and more.
A service from CSU MERLOT program, COOL4ed contains open textbooks, course materials, open courses, virtual labs and more. Also provides a tool to enter the ISBN of commercial texts to locate open textbook alternatives.
Searchable platform for open textbooks, homework exercises, visualizations/simulations, demos, techniques and learning experiences across a variety of subjects.
Wisc-Online is a digital library of over 2,500 web-based learning objects developed by faculty from the Wisconsin Technical College System.
OER Search from the Open Oregon Consortium
Disciplinary Specific OER
Public Domain Resources
Project Gutenberg contains over 57,000 public domain books.
A online collection of digitized materials, HathiTrust contains 6,149,935 (and growing) volumes in the public domain.
Digital Public Library of America
Photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more digitized from US libraries and cultural heritage institutions.
Selected Open Textbook Collections
BCcampus Open Education
Open textbook collection designed to support post-secondary institutions of British Columbia. Some open textbooks contain supplemental or ancillary materials (e.g., test banks, quizzes, PowerPoint slides, videos).
College Open Textbooks
Over 800 textbooks, many peer reviewed by leading academics.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.
National Academies Press (NAP)
The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy; most titles are available fore free PDF format.
Open textbooks developed at Rice University for their top 25 highest enrolled courses following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. Books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Locate open textbooks and courses written and curated by SUNY faculty.
Open Textbook Library
A catalog of open access textbooks hosted by the Open Textbook Network at the University of Minnesota. Open Textbook Network has multiple criteria for inclusion in the Library and book reviews from faculty at member institutions are posted.