Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Think of the Library of Congress (LOC) Subject Headings as hashtags that can point you to more sources with the same tags.
When you find an interesting book in UC Library Search, click on the title and navigate to the Virtual Browse carousel at the very bottom of your screen. You can also scroll down to Subjects and if you select one of the blue headings, the hyperlink will lead you to a list of other items with the same heading.
Here is an example of the headings for the book African Women's Movements: Transforming Political Landscapes (Tripp):
Keep in mind, though, that this shared vocabulary is approved by Congress and is a product of society, based within a historically white, Western culture. Librarians involved in social justice work seek to disband antiquated and offensive terms, though not always approved by Congress. For example, efforts to change the subject heading illegal alien to noncitizen and unauthorized immigration were not approved by Congress. (See the 2016 Library Journal article "Library of Congress Drops Illegal Alien Subject Heading, Provokes Backlash Legislation.")
Interesting books about cataloging:
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
An index for material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Topics range from politics and law to anthropology and music. It points to various formats including books, journal articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, report, theses, and music recording.
1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.
An index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 200 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 360 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
1972 - present. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.
You may want to look for databases in several subject categories.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
