Another approach can be to look for archives in the country one is investigating. They may have some items available in digital format and are often collecting materials about their own history.
1492 - 2007. A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies from libraries and archives around the world. Developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents by using images of the texts rather than transcriptions.
1543 - 1945. Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.
A collection focused on the liberation struggles in Southern Africa, especially in Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Contains 76 sub-collections of primary source materials focusing on colonial rule, the dispersion of exiles, and international intervention through newspapers, UN documents, photographs, speeches, personal papers and more.
1880 - 1990. A collection comprised of the records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. Includes correspondence, minutes and financial records, and transcripts of each organization.
1941 - 1996. Provides access to translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, in addition to official news sources and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.
1785 - 2013. The Times covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
1910 - 1975. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
1791 - 2003. Access to digitized London and Manchester newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.
A collection of 82 digitized newspaper from across the Middle East and Africa, providing unique insights into the history of various countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Open access via the Center for Research Libraries.
A collection via History Vault focusing on the political side of the movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Includes the FBI files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, a collection of FBI files covering the civil rights struggle in Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, covering the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the federal government.
Collections via History Vault focused on the records of major civil rights organizations and the personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Civil Rights movement. Includes the records for the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs as well as the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers.
1960-1969. Focuses on U.S. State Department Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers. Covers sensitive materials from U.S. diplomats in Biafra/Nigeria, Congo, Egypt, Ghana, South Africa, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Lebanon, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, the Persian Gulf States (Aden, Bahrein, Kuwait, Muscat & Oman, Qatar, Trucial Sheiks), and Yemen.: reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
1941 - 1961. Contains over 3,500 classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa during World War II and the first decade and a half of the Cold War via the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the State Department.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
