Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Subject Databases
We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.
ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
Access to literary texts including dictionaries and reference works.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.
PASCAL-FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to the archive of PASCAL (1984-2015), a database of scientific literature with special emphasis on European content, and FRANCIS (1972-2015), a database of publications related to humanities and social sciences. Produced by the by Institut de lInformation Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), available in French, English and Spanish.
Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC) This link opens in a new window
A consortium focused on acquiring, archiving, preserving and distributing linguistic corpora. View currently available data sets and instructions for accessing at library guide
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Recommended General Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Off-Campus & Full-Text Access
Two Important Tips
Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Install and connect to the VPN.
Click on the Get it at UC button to access or request full-text of articles and books.