Access to approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public.
Brings together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world with unique materials relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Explores themes such as slavery in the early Americas, slave testimony, varieties of slave experience and more. Via Adam Matthew.
Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the US and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Includes statutes from every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. From HeinOnline.
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
1775 -1867. A collection focused on the petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses. Collected from hundreds of courthouses and historical societies in 10 states and the District of Columbia, they document the realities of slavery at the most immediate local level and with fascinating candor.
Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.
1827 - 1998. Provides online access to over 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant
1835 - 1956. Access to more than 75 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features newspapers from 22 states plus the District of Columbia.
A Multi-Organization Collaboration, this site provides information on the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade documenting ~48,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked millions of Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. Includes interactive time-lapse and lesson plans. See Methodology.
Access to unique and historically important digital collections: over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
Photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics from the Associated Press (AP). The collection includes 12 million photographs from 1826 forward.
Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Hosted by Google.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
