LibGuides: Education-Start Your Research: Library Resources

Recommended Subject Databases

We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1968 - present. Full-text of peer-reviewed journals on education topics including diversity, teaching methods, leadership, and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1966 - present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education. Via EBSCO.
O’Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Contains close to 48,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly & Associates, including selective titles from 200+ other publishers. Contains 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video.

Recommended General Databases

This list includes other starting places for most research topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Learn to Research

UC Merced Library DIY Tutorials
Links to a number of online tutorials, both general and specific, that teach you about accessing information resources and doing library research.
UC Merced Library Workshop Recordings
A complete listing of workshop recordings arranged by topic and presentation date.

Follow this link to get assistance from research librarians
Contact us via email, phone, chat, or to schedule a appointment!

Off-Campus & Full-Text Access

Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Install and connect to the VPN.
Click on the Get it at UC button in databases, Google Scholar, and UC Library Search to access or request full-text of articles and books at no cost!