LibGuides: Biology 153 (Beaster-Jones): Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .

Biological Sciences Databases

Searching Web of Science: Tips & Tricks

Refine your results with Limits

by Subject Category: select those most closely related to your area of study. Check mark and click "Refine".
by Document Types: select those you want to view e.g. Article to locate original research articles.
by Publication years: especially for topics in the scientific field

Refine your result by Searching in Results

You can also search for metho* (for method, methods, or methodology) to try to bring up articles that mention a Methods section in the abstract.

Times Cited and Cited Reference

This information can lead you to other articles related to your topic. Look for "Times Cited" or "Cited References" hyperlinks.

Truncation*

Use the * symbol to search for variations of a word e.g. treat* for treat, treated, treatment, treatments etc.

Limit the Search to a Specific Field

The default search is a Topic search. At the main search page, you may choose Title from the drop down menu.

Biological Sciences Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources including MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and Bookshelf. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Bookshelf. MEDLINE articles are indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Use Get it at UC to locate the full text when not otherwise available.
BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present.The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals, books, conferences and patents.
Biosis Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.
Open Science Framework Preprints This link opens in a new window
Brings together search results for multiple preprint providers such as arXiv, bioRxiv, PeerJ, CogPrints and others. Over two million preprints indexed and searchable by author or keywords, filterable by subject, preprint server, and most recent contributions.

Searching in PubMed: Tips & Tricks

Use MeSH Database (controlled vocabulary) from the National Library of Medicine

Select MeSH from the search drop down menu (rather than PubMed) or use the MeSH Database link under More Resources
Enter the common term, e.g. nosebleed, flu, heartburn,
If more than one term is listed, select the desired term with a check mark
Or, select subheadings that match your topic interest
Click Add to search builder
Search for additional terms if desired, e.g. outbreak, causes, therapy, etc.
Click Add to search builder
Click Search PubMed

Limit in a variety of other ways. e.g. by population, language, type of article, age group etc.

Find related articles

From search result list, see Related citations link under each item
From individual article records see links to articles under Related citations or click Related Citations under All links from this record

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444