LibGuides: Writing-Start Your Research: Library Resources

Recommended General Databases

This list includes other starting places for most research topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Recommended Subject Databases

We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. For Chrome browser users, follow this link to troubleshoot a known issue.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Covers topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors. Via ProQuest.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.

Learn to Research

UC Merced Library DIY Tutorials
Links to a number of online tutorials, both general and specific, that teach you about accessing information resources and doing library research.
UC Merced Library Workshop Recordings
A complete listing of workshop recordings arranged by topic and presentation date.

Follow this link to get assistance from research librarians
Contact us via email, phone, chat, or to schedule a appointment!

Off-Campus & Full-Text Access

Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Install and connect to the VPN.
Click on the Get it at UC button in databases, Google Scholar, and UC Library Search to access or request full-text of articles and books at no cost!