Environmental Engineering 10 (Sullivan): Other Potential Resources

Databases (EBSCO platform)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

GreenFile
same citation functionality as Academic Search Complete; see above

Databases

ScienceDirect/SciVerse
content from sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences, full text from many journals
See Advanced search for options to limit to Images or Reference sources.
select citations > Export Citations > select RefWorks Direct Export > click Export button
Email functionality: Allows you to email lists of citations but not in a specific citation style format.
National Technical Reports Library
collection of federally-funded technical reports ~50,000
No citation functionality. See OWL APA for citing a report .
Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)
may include overviews, emerging issues and information about incentives (e.g. search for biofuels), intended to inform Congress and to assist in public policy decision
No citation functionality,
Email functionality: Allows you to email lists of citations but not in a specific citation style format.
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge
citations in biological sciences, including journals, books, conferences and patents
select citations > click RefWorks button for export to RefWorks
Email functionality: Allows you to email lists of citations but not in a specific citation style format. Select items and look for email icon.
IEEE Xplore
Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)
Select citations by check marking > click Download Citations > select RefWorks > click Download Citation button
Email functionality: Allows you to email lists of citations but not in a specific citation style format.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National Library Network
some items available online
No citation functionality.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
citations from biology, medical field
See this FAQ for Export to RefWorks instructions.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Specialized Reference Resources and Books

Collection of ebooks including handbooks and specialized encyclopedias.

ENVIROnetBASE (from CRCnetBASE)
ebook collection with information on pollution reduction, environmental emissions etc.
Email functionality: Allows you to email lists of citations but not in a specific citation style format.
See this FAQ for Export to RefWorks instructions
Knovel Library
ebook collection from Sci-Tech publishers, ~900 titles including those in Sustainable Energy & Development (see Browse for categories)
Click on a book title in Knovel. Under the book cover will be a Citation button. Click on this for the citation. Copy and Paste. (No citation style options are given.)
Click on a book title; click on Citation button under book cover image. Click Export. Select RefWorks.
Access Engineering (McGraw)
ebook collection of engineering materials includes Energy, Green & Sustainable, and Environmental categories
No citation functionality.
Credo Reference
reference ebook collection, includes Encyclopedia of Energy, Dictionary of Environmental Science & Technology, and Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
Search for a topic. Select entry. Look for APA, Chicago, Harvard, and MLA links at the bottom of the page. Copy and paste the citation in selected style.
Search for a topic. Select entry. At "Save citation to", select RefWorks from drop down. Click Go.

Renewable Energy: Books

Energy Portfolios (ENVIROnetBASE)
e.g. chapter on "Nuclear Power"
Geothermal Energy (ENVIROnetBASE)
e.g. Chp 14 "The Geothermal Energy Future"
Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (ENVIROnetBASE)
e.g. chp. 4 "Environmental Impacts and Costs of Energy"
Integration of Alternative Sources of Energy (Knovel)
chapters on different types of energy sources e.g. thermosolar power plants and photovoltaic power plants
Nuclear Energy - An Introduction to the Concepts, Systems, and Applications of Nuclear Processes (6th Edition)
basic nuclear physics, systems, and applications of nuclear energy
Wind Energy Systems - Optimising Design and Construction for Safe and Reliable Operations
information on "the latest developments in large-scale wind energy systems."
Encyclopedia of Energy (Credo) from Elsevier
e.g. entries on "Biomass Gasification", "Alternative Transportation Fuels" etc.
Dictionary of Environmental Science & Technology (Credo)
entries on "Wind Energy", "Bioethanol" etc.
Environmental Impacts of Hydraulic Fracturing (ENVIROnetBASE)
While hydraulic fracturing allows access to previously unobtainable energy supplies, the technology can cause serious damage to environmental media. Public concerns have focused on the impacts of the process used during natural gas production from shale and coalbed methane formations.
Fracking: The Operations and Environmental Consequences of Hydraulic Fracturing
This book presents both sides of a very controversial subject in today's media: induced hydraulic fracturing, or "fracking. " It covers the technology and methods used in hydraulic fracturing in easy-to-understand language, for the engineer and layperson alike, presenting the environmental effects of hydraulic fracturing.