Where else can I find Monographs beyond our book collection?
We are able to borrow books from other University of California’s libraries catalog using the interlibrary loan. This may take a couple of weeks for your requested books to arrive here.
If waiting for the interlibrary loan does not work due to the turnaround time, we have access to several eBook catalogs though our subscription to different database. It orders to fully access these eBook catalogs; you need to be login to your library account or VPN onto campus to access those resources. Below is a short list that you might want to explore:
In 1964, UNESCO launched the elaboration of the General History of Africa with a view to remedy the general ignorance on Africa’s history. The challenge consisted of reconstructing Africa’s history, freeing it from racial prejudices ensuing from slave trade and colonization, and promoting an African perspective
This is produced by Nordic Africa Institute this is a collection of links of Free, research-oriented online resources about Africa. The Guide was created in 1990 and has been regularly updated.
AODL provides free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. It brings together tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources. AODL is aimed at a broad international constituency, from university researchers and secondary school teachers to individuals seeking to inform themselves about African people on the continent and in the diaspora.
African and Middle Eastern Division (AMED) was created in 1978 as part of a general Library of Congress reorganization. AMED currently consists of three sections - African, Hebraic and Near East - and covers more than 77 countries and regions from Southern Africa to the Maghreb and from the Middle East to Central Asia. Each section plays a vital role in the Library's acquisitions program; offers expert reference and bibliographic services to the Congress and researchers in this country and abroad; develops projects, special events and publications; and cooperates with other institutions and scholarly and professional associations in the US and abroad.
As a UC Merced Student, you have access to several Scholarly Journal and Articles databases. Below is a list of starting databases to begin your research.
An index for material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Topics range from politics and law to anthropology and music. It points to various formats including books, journal articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, report, theses, and music recording.
A peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia with ongoing updates including new and revised articles.
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
Below is a list of Scholarly Journal which has a focus on Africa History. In orders to fully access these Journals; you will need to login to your library account or VPN onto campus to access those resources.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
