LibGuides: Environmental Systems 206 (O'Day): Databases & Other Resources

Databases

U.S. EPA Online Library System This link opens in a new window
A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency library network. Includes citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment. A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the EPA Library Network. Included here are citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Gateway to web versions of Chapman & Hall/CRC chemical information resources. Contains information on physical property data, structural representations, and chemical synonyms.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Part of the CHEMnetBASE collection.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds This link opens in a new window
Physical and chemical constants for organic compounds; includes structure diagrams and literature references on synthesis, structure and spectra, etc. Available via ChemNetBase. (Requires Java plugin.)
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Includes GeoRef in Process. 1963 - present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
1898 - present. INSPEC, via Engineering Village 2, offers over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on nearly 11,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. Includes Organic Name Collections (concise descriptions and histories of 446 named reactions) and 60 pages of additional tables.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
From Chemical Abstract Services. A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Register here.

NEMI: National Environmental Methods Index
NEMI is a searchable database that allows scientists and managers to find and compare analytical and field methods for all phases of environmental monitoring.
Crystallography open database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organics compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
Including data and software from CrystalEye, developed by Nick Day at the department of Chemistry, the University of Cambridge under supervision of Peter Murray-Rust.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) Collection of Methods

Western Waters Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material. Follow this link to troubleshoot a known issue with Chrome browsers.

EPA Data Sources

Toxics Release Inventory Explorer (U.S. EPA) This link opens in a new window
EPA database containing information on specific toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually. Section 313 of the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) created the TRI.

EPA Data Finder
This site provides access to EPA's data sources organized by subject as well as links to EPA's Public Data JSON file, EPA's Public Excel file, and EPA's Environmental Dataset Gateway.
EPA Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG)
Use the EDG to find and access EPA's environmental resources.

Books, eBooks

Chemicals in the atmosphere : solubility, sources, and reactivity
This volume will be of interest to chemists and environmental scientists as well as geochemists and others involved in atmospheric microtesting. Researchers associated with aerosol and air quality studies, as well as pollution issues, will also find it of interest. The sections on Henry's law constants will be of particular benefit to chemical engineers.
Environmental encyclopedia
Provides coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Environmental toxicology
Environmental Toxicology is a comprehensive introductory textbook dealing with all aspects of the subject. It is primarily a text for students in environmental toxicology, environmental chemistry, ecotoxicology, applied ecology, environmental management, and risk assessment. It will also be valuable for specialists in ecology, environmental science, and chemistry.
Sampling and analysis of environmental chemical pollutants : a complete guide
Appendices may be especially useful.
Toxicological risk assessment of chemicals : a practical guide
Contents include:
International and federal bodies involved in risk assessment of chemical substances;
Data for hazard assessment;
Hazard assessment;
Standard setting : threshold effects;
Standard setting : non-threshold effects (carcinogenicity);
Exposure assessment;
Risk characterization;
Regulatory standards set by various bodies;
Combined actions of chemicals in mixture.
Yaws handbook of properties of the chemical elements
An excellent source of data for 119 chemical elements from Ac to Zr. 49 different substance properties are presented including physical, thermodynamic, vapor pressure, critical constants, environmental, exposure limits, etc. Element data are presented in 8 fully interactive tables and 24 live equation plotters as well as searchable PDF documents for every element.
Libre Texts: Thomas Wenzel, Molecular and Atomic Spectroscopy
A series of collaborative learning activities and accompanying text that develop the areas of molecular and atomic spectroscopy is provided. Chapters on basics of spectrophotometry, ultraviolet/visible absorption, molecular fluorescence, infrared, Raman and atomic spectroscopy are included. These activities are intended to be done in class by students working in groups, but can be modified for use as out-of-class exercises. Learning objectives and an instructor’s manual are provided as well. The instructor’s manual provides tips for how to use the in-class exercises, the types of responses that students often provide to the questions in the exercises, and how the instructor can build from these responses to develop the concepts.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444

Environmental Systems 206 (O'Day): Databases & Other Resources

Databases

Journals

EPA Data Sources

Books, eBooks