A database is an organized collection of information. The library databases are online collections of information from published and copyrighted works, for example scholarly articles, newspaper articles, ebooks, music, and art. Some databases, like Academic Search Complete cover a wide variety of topics and disciplines. Other databases, like Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, are subject-specific and have a narrower focus.
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant
1850 - present. Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.
The Black Studies Center compiles historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors. Via ProQuest.
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.
Photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics from the Associated Press (AP). The collection includes 12 million photographs from 1826 forward.
A digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024, and Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now available on JSTOR.
Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Hosted by Google.
Get it at UC connects you from a source citation to the resource.
You will be taken to UC Library Search where you can navigate to the full-text of the source OR initiate a request for the source through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
The Get it at UC button will appear in many library databases. Use it to more easily locate or request the resources you need!
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
