The words you type into the search box affect your search results. Not all authors use the same language to describe similar topics, so you will need to try a variety of searches. Note: As you are searching for historical documents, you may notice that some terms you find or use in your search are perjorative (disrespectful, derogatory) today.
1740 - 1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Access is available to the American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries collection.
A collection of approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Contains content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources from the gay rights movement, as well as coverage on sex, sexuality, and gender issues across the sciences and humanities and throughout history.
Access to primary source documents related to central people and events in African American history. Via ProQuest.
A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.
DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from digital collections around the United States. Includes photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images and more. Search by topic, timeline, map, and format.
A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
1960 - 1974. This searchable database includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Sample Searches: To start exploring these collection, try these searches/links below.
The free web is often extremely valuable.
The library often has subscription resources with historical content.
Look in larger collections for clues, hints etc. of where content might be located or for language.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
