Northeastern Illinois University (NEIU), Ronald Williams Library, 1:22
This video explains what periodicals are in general, and then proceeds to explain what a journal is and how they are different from other periodicals. It mentions how they can be accessed through the library online and includes information about the peer review process. While it mentions that periodicals like magazines and newspapers are written for a general audience, it doesn’t explicitly state the audience for journal articles, but this could be a question to ponder or to ask students who they think the audience is in scholarly journal articles. This would be good to use in a class session or to have students watch prior to a flipped lesson. The video has a little branding at the end; stop the video at 1:17 to skip the last few seconds.
When you see the lock icon 
, this indicates a subscription database that your UC Libraries pay for. When you see the open lock 
, that indicates an open access resource that is freely available online. More details about icons can be found by hovering your mouse over them.
Need a recommendation for a database that isn't on this list? Just ask a librarian!
These databases cover a wide range of subjects/disciplines and are generally a good starting place for any research topic.
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs). Free account creation recommended but not required.
A data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
1982 - present.A collection of full-text articles from approximately 60 journals covering subjects such as mass communication, journalism and public opinion.
1968 - present. Searchable database of network broadcasts (e.g. CBS, NBC, ABC) including news abstracts and broadcast descriptions.
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).
Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research , SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.
1969 - present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
