The Library has many databases that include images. In addition, you may find images online or in stock photo collections. Be careful that you have the permissions you need if you want to use an image that you did not personally create. The idea is that someone looking at your work will be able to consult these images in the future.
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that works "to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing" ("What We Do").
Creative Commons licenses provide a way for people to share their work and make it available for others to build on and reuse. Check out the Creative Commons website for more information and details about CC licenses.
Here is a wiki on best practices for how to give attribution (credit) to images with CC licenses.
Access to unique and historically important digital collections: over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.
Searchable public photo repository. Includes historical photos as well as more recent images.
Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Hosted by Google.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
