This guide references text and resources from the following, extremely informative Library Guides. All are excellent resources to visit when conducting a review:
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
Finding What Works in Health Care by
Healthcare decision makers in search of reliable information comparing health interventions increasingly turn to systematic reviews for the best summary of the evidence. Systematic reviews identify, select, assess, and synthesize the findings of similar but separate studies, and can help clarify what is known and not known about the potential benefits and harms of drugs, devices, and other healthcare services. Systematic reviews can be helpful for clinicians who want to integrate research findings into their daily practices, for patients to make well-informed choices about their own care, for professional medical societies and other organizations that develop clinical practice guidelines. Too often systematic reviews are of uncertain or poor quality. There are no universally accepted standards for developing systematic reviews leading to variability in how conflicts of interest and biases are handled, how evidence is appraised, and the overall scientific rigor of the process. In Finding What Works in Health Care the Institute of Medicine (IOM) recommends 21 standards for developing high-quality systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research. The standards address the entire systematic review process from the initial steps of formulating the topic and building the review team to producing a detailed final report that synthesizes what the evidence shows and where knowledge gaps remain.Finding What Works in Health Care also proposes a framework for improving the quality of the science underpinning systematic reviews. This book will serve as a vital resource for both sponsors and producers of systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research.
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by
A step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in nursing, or related healthcare professions, that takes you through every step of the process from start to finish.
Systematic reviews to answer health care questions by
1. Systematic reviews -- 2. Defining the topic and scope and developing research questions, analytic frameworks, and protocols -- 3. Building the systematic review team, engaging stakeholders, and managing the project -- 4. Determining inclusion and exclusion criteria for studies -- 5. Conducting searches for relevant studies -- 6. Selecting studies for inclusion -- 7. Extracting data from studies and constructing evidence tables -- 8. Assessing quality and applicability of studies -- 9. Qualitative analysis -- 10. Quantitative analysis -- 11. Assessing and rating the strength of the body of evidence -- 12. Preparing and disseminating the report.
Systematic Reviews to Support Evidence-Based Medicine by
Authoritative, clear, concise, and practical, this highly acclaimed book continues to be an essential text for all medical, surgical and health professionals who want to have an easily accessible, quick reference to systematically reviewing the literature. Learn about the key steps to reviewing the literature Carry out your own reviews with expert guidance Assess the credibility of recommendations in published reviews and practice guidelines New for the second edition Many new case studies Examples from medicine, surgery, health professions and consumer information Expanded, updated and revised with practical guidelines and invaluable advice The authors are veterans of over 150 systematic reviews and have helped form policy and practice. They have ensured that this concise, practical text, which avoids technical jargon, continues to be the first reference for all health professionals undertaking literature reviews.
Armijo-Olivo, S., Stiles, C. R., Hagen, N. A., Biondo, P. D., & Cummings, G. G. (2012). Assessment of study quality for systematic reviews: A comparison of the Cochrane Collaboration Risk of Bias Tool and the Effective Public Health Practice Project Quality Assessment Tool: Methodological research. Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice, 18(1), 12-18. http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-2753.2010.01516.x
Brownson, R.C. Fielding, J.E., & Maylahn, C.M. (2009). Evidence-Based Public Health: A Fundamental Concept for Public Health Practice. Annual Review of Public Health, 30, 175-201. http://dx.doi.org/10.1146/annurev.publhealth.031308.100134
Liberati, A., Altman, D. G., Tetzlaff, J., Mulrow, C., Gøtzsche, P. C., Ioannidis, J. P. A., Clarke, M., Devereaux, P.J., Kleijnen, J, & Moher, D. (2009). The PRISMA statement for reporting systematic reviews and meta-analyses of studies that evaluate healthcare interventions: Explanation and elaboration. Bmj, 339. http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/bmj.b2700
Waters, E., Hall, B. J., Armstrong, R., Doyle, J., Pettman, T. L., & de Silva-Sanigorski, A. (2011). Essential components of public health evidence reviews: capturing intervention complexity, implementation, economics and equity. Journal of Public Health, 33(3), 462-465. http://dx.doi.org/10.1093/pubmed/fdr064
Chapter 21 of the Cochrane Handbook For Systematic Reviews of Interventions (2019) covers working with qualitative information.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
