It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and magazine sources provide information about current events and social issues. Many but not all databases will have filters to help you narrow results to news or magazine articles. Some databases are exclusively focused on news.
These are just some of the many tools that can help you find current and historic news content.
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Previously LexisNexis Academic.
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Selected magazine sources from Academic Search Complete recommended for research requiring magazine literature on a specific issue with differing points of view. The sources include Time, Economist, Atlantic Monthly, U.S. News & World Report and others. Note: May be appropriate for library research required for lower-division writing courses.
Media Bias Measuring Tools
Check a publication's level of factual accuracy and whether it has extreme bias in its reporting.
AllSides: news from various perspectives and information on media bias of individual publications
Media Bias / Fact Check: information on media bias and level of factual accuracy, includes a greater variety of sources than those found in AllSides
US Major Dailies
Rio Salado CC (2:20)
How To: Use Access World News
Fact Checking Tools
There are also some sites that check into statements made by politicians and hoaxes / rumors.
Snopes: fact-check hoaxes (independent entity, founded by David Mikkelsen)
Politifact: fact-check U.S. politics (project of the Tampa Bay Times, a company owned by The Poynter Institute)
FactCheck.org: fact-check politics (project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania)