LibGuides: Public Health-Start Your Reserch: Library Resources

Recommended Subject Databases

We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.

PsycINFO
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources including MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and Bookshelf. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Bookshelf. MEDLINE articles are indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Use Get it at UC to locate the full text when not otherwise available.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
Cochrane Summaries This link opens in a new window
Contains research summaries on medicine and health from 37,000 contributors in an effort to provide credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest.

Recommended General Databases

This list includes other starting places for most research topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Off-Campus & Full-Text Access

Two Important Tips

Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Install and connect to the VPN.
Click on the Get it at UC button in databases, Google Scholar, and UC Library Search to access or request full-text of articles and books at no cost!