Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related Statistics and Datasets
These resources include statistical information and datasets about various topics that may be of interest to you in this class.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps This link opens in a new window
Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Includes an extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Also includes statistics on mental health-related disability and suicide.
California Health Interview Survey This link opens in a new window
CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.
Links to Web and Current Events Resources
Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Use these databases to find information about psychological connections to health disparities.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1894 - present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Psychology & Counseling: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Contains over 100 full text journals in areas such as applied psychology, environment psychology, language acquisition, personality and social psychology.
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, , and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
Medical and Health Resources
These databases can provide medical and health research-related info.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 50 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.
New England Journal of Medicine Archive This link opens in a new window
1812 - 1989. The NEJM Archive is a vital resource for teaching and research. With over 150,000 articles, 8,657 issues, 478,000 pages, 85,316 images, and 610,000 references dating back to 1812, the NEJM Archive is a comprehensive information source.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Medicine This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. Includes articles, essays, case , best practices and editorials pertaining to all areas of medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).