Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Emily Lin - Director, Strategic Initiatives, Archives & Special Collections: Home

Director, Strategic Initiatives, Archives & Special Collections

Emily Lin

UC Merced Library
University of California, Merced
5200 North Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
209-658-7146
elin@ucmerced.edu

Education/Degrees

Professional Development:

  • UCLA Senior Fellows, 2014
  • Harvard Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians, 2012
  • ARL/CLIR/DLF/Duraspace E-Science Institute, 2012
  • IMLS Summer Institute for Humanities Data Curation, 2009
Master of Library & Information Science
Drexel University (2003)
Concentration in Management of Digital Information

Artium Baccalaureus, Comparative Literature 
Princeton University (1998)
Magna cum laude
Certificate in East Asian Studies
Teacher Preparation Program

Grants

  • Co-Principal Investigator, $750,000 grant, National Endowment for the Humanities, “Establishing a Sierra Nevada-Central Valley Archive,” 2022-2024.
  • DEFCon Teaching Fellowship, Digital Ethnic Futures Consortium, 2022.
  • Principal Investigator, $200,000 grant, National Endowment for the Humanities, “Regional Archives for California’s Central Valley,” 2021-2022.
  • Technical lead, $149,814 grant, NHPRC Access to Historical Records, “Pioneering Child Studies: Digitizing and Providing Access to Collections of Women Physicians who Spearheaded Behavioral and Developmental Pediatrics” (UCSF Library, Principal Investigator: Polina Ilieva), 2021-2023.
  • Technical lead, $95,000 grant, Network of National Library of Medicine, “Digitizing and Providing Universal Access to Historical AIDS Records,” (UCSF Library, Principal Investigator: Polina Ilieva), 2020-2021.
  • US Agricultural Information Network Research Award, $2,000, “Agricultural State and Local Literature: Where are the Gaps in Preservation and Access?” 2019.
  • Principal Investigator, $308,900 NHPRC Major Initiatives grant, “A Century of Impact: Documenting the Work of the Cooperative Extension in California’s Counties,” 2018-2021.
  • Technical lead, $315,000 NEH Preservation and Access grant, “The San Francisco Bay Area’s Response to the AIDS Epidemic: Digitizing, Reuniting, and Providing Universal Access to Historical AIDS Records” (UCSF Library, Principal Investigator: Polina Ilieva), 2017-2019.
  • Co-Principal Investigator, data allocation grant from San Diego Supercomputer Center, 2005-2008.

Selected Publications/Presentations/Reports

  • A Century of Impact: Documenting the Work of the Cooperative Extension in California,” paper co-presented with Rebecca Gourevitch, USAIN 2022 Virtual Conference.
  • “Head, Heart, Hands, Health: Partnering with 4-H Youth to Map Community Histories,” poster co-presented with Rebecca Gourevitch, Society of American Archivists ARCHIVES * RECORDS 2021.
  • “Tracing Agricultural History in the Archives,” Merced County Farm News, February 12, 2021.
  • “How Curators Transferred Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks’ Archives to Escape Wildfires,” The Conversation, December 23, 2020.
  • “The San Francisco Model of Documenting an Epidemic: Democratizing AIDS History through Digitization,” co-authored with Polina Ilieva, Archival Outlook, November/December 2020.
  • “Saving the Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks Archives,” The Federalist Society for History in the Federal Government Newsletter, Spring 2021.
  • “Agricultural State and Local Literature: Where are the Gaps in Preservation and Access?,” presented at USAIN 2020 Virtual Conference.
  • “Overview of Library Initiatives: Advancing Teaching, Research, and Public Service at UC Merced,” co-presenter, UC Merced Leadership Council, December 18, 2019.
  • “UC Cooperative Extension Archives,” Community Conversations radio interview, KYOS-AM, Merced, aired August 3, 2019.
  • “Making the case for Open Agriculture: Releasing Your Institution's Publications to ‘Full View’ in HathiTrust,” webinar sponsored by US Agricultural Information Network (USAIN) and the Agriculture Network Information Collaborative (AgNIC), July 10, 2019.
  •  “Opening UC Works in HathiTrust: How to Target Sets of UC Copyrighted-Owned Volumes and Open Them for Worldwide Access,” UC Digital Library Forum, UC San Diego, May 22, 2019.
  • “Digital Curation and Scholarship,” invited talk, UC 2018 CORO Northern Cohort meeting, March 21, 2019.
  • “Golden State Digital Network,” keynote, Merced County Historical Society Annual Membership Meeting, February 10, 2019.
  • “Golden State Digital Network,” invited talk, 2nd Annual Conference of Merced County Historical Societies, October 23, 2018.
  • “When Opportunity Doesn’t Knock, Build a Door,” co-presented with Jerrold Shiroma, Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance Annual Meeting, September 2018, UC Berkeley.
  • “Mission? Permission! Opening Publications in HathiTrust—Membership Not Required,” panel, US Agricultural Information Network, May 16, 2018, Washington State University, Pullman, WA.
  • “Researcher Needs and the Long-term Value of County Cooperative Extension Materials in California,” poster session, US Agricultural Information Network, May 14, 2018, Washington State University, Pullman, WA.
  • “Digital Curation and Scholarship,” Merced Sunrise Rotary Club, April 26, 2018.
  • “California Agricultural Resources Archive,” San Joaquin Valley UC Alumni Network meeting, March 6, 2018.
  • “Developing Technologies Together: The Secret Sauce for Collaboration,” UC Digital Library Forum, UC Riverside Library, February 27, 2018.
  • “Demystifying Data Curation,” UC Digital Library Forum, UC Riverside Library, February 27, 2018.
  • “Clear Collaboration: Tightening Up Collaborative Digitization Projects,” UC Digital Library Forum, UC Riverside Library, February 28, 2018.
  • “DAMS Panel Discussion, ” UC Digital Library Forum, UC Riverside Library, February 28, 2018.
  • “Digital Curation and Scholarship,” University Friends Circle, February 6, 2018.
  • “California Agricultural Resources Archive,” UC Cooperative Extension County Directors meeting, February 2, 2018.
  • “What is Local has Global Impact: Focusing Digital Strategies to Extend Research Capabilities,” Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance Annual Meeting, October 2017, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China.
  • “Management of Digital Assets and Its Roles in a Contemporary Academic Library,” invited talk, October 16, 2017, Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen, China.
  • “Digital Content and Copyright,” 1st Annual Conference of Merced County Historical Societies, October 10, 2017.
  • “Overview of the UC Cooperative Extension Archives Project,” UC Agriculture and Natural Resources Program Council, September 5, 2017.
  • “Preserving Agricultural and Ecological Sciences: Inventing Archives for Dispersed Research Collections in California,” ARCHIVES 2017, Science, Technology, and Health Care Section, July 27, 2017, Portland, OR.
  • “Calisphere/Nuxeo Co-Development at UC Merced,” Calisphere/DAMS Users Group Meeting, December 14, 2016, web conference.
  • “Building Capacity to Support Research: the Case at UC Merced Library,” co-presented with Haipeng Li, Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance Annual Meeting, December 2016, University of Melbourne.
  • Panel participant, “The Bridge is History: Water and the Humanities” public conference, Merced County Courthouse Museum, October 16, 2016.
  • “The Long View: Implementing the UC Libraries Digital Collection and Evolving Models for Collaborative Digital Library Development,” Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance Annual Meeting, October 2015, University of Oregon.
  • “From Communication to Collaboration: Developing the Spectrum of Activities for Effective Shared Services at the University of California.” In Eden, Bradford Lee, ed. Partnerships and New Roles in the 21st-Century Academic Library. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.
  •  “Three Dimensions of Strategic Planning and Development of Library Services,” invited talk, May 21, 2014, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Lee Shau Kee Library.
  • “Top Dogs Campaign: Raising Faculty Awareness of Library Services,” 2014 LAUC Assembly, April 23, 2014, UC Davis.
  • “University of California Libraries Provide Open Access and Preservation of ETDs,” co-presented with Martha Hruska and Perry Willett, USETDA 2013 Conference, July 2013, Claremont, CA.
  • “The Data Management Needs of Researchers at UC Merced,” poster, 2013 Research as Assessment Poster Competition, UC Merced.
  • “Next-Generation Technical Services at the University of California Libraries: Instituting Change for Improved Library Services,” Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA) Annual Meeting, co-held with the International Conference in celebration of the 110th anniversary of the founding of the Peking University Library, November 2012, Peking University.
  • “Next-Generation Technical Services at One Year,” co-presented with Martha Hruska, Librarians Association of the University of California Assembly, May 2012, Santa Clara, CA.
  • “PRDLA Graphic Presence Project: Final Report,” Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA) Annual Meeting, October 2010, Fudan University (presented on my behalf by Nie Hua, Deputy Director, Peking University Library).
  • “Curating Faculty Research Data at UC Merced,” Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA) Annual Meeting, November 2009, University of Auckland.
  • “PRDLA Graphic Presence Task Group Report,” Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA) Annual Meeting, November 2009, University of Auckland.
  • “METS and Access to Complex Digital Objects: A new university and a young museum partner together to create a digital collection from the ground up—using METS,” Museum Computer Network Annual Conference, November 2006, Pasadena, CA.
  • “Who Owns What? Negotiating Intellectual Property, Digital Assets, and Information Access,” Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA) Annual Meeting, October 2005, University of Hawaii, Manoa.
  • “Japanese Fine Art: Building a Digital Enterprise While Building a New University,” World Cultures Institute Forum, June 2005, Great Valley Center, Modesto, CA; and the Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA) Annual Meeting, October 2004, Academia Sinica, Taiwan.

Workshops and Guides

“Local Archives: Approaches & Methods for Planning Research,” November 11, 2021. Luce Initiative, “Developing Resilient & Integrative Humanities Research with San Joaquin Valley Communities.”

“Digital Tools & Archiving,” Luce Summer Institute 2021.

“Digging into Local Archives: Approaches and Methods for Planning Research.” October 19, 2020. Luce Initiative, “Developing Resilient & Integrative Humanities Research with San Joaquin Valley Communities.”

“(De-)Constructing Digital Collections and Archives,” November 19, 2019. Luce Foundation workshop for Interdisciplinary Humanities 206 graduate seminar.

“An Inside Look: Institutional Archives and How to Approach Archival Research,” October 29, 2019. Luce Foundation workshop for Interdisciplinary Humanities 206 graduate seminar.

Research Data Management: From Plan to Publication,” September 18, 2019. Research Data Management Series co-sponsored by Office of Research Development.

“Research Visualization,” UC Merced Research Week, March 6, 2019.

“Creating Effective Data Management Plans,” September 25, 2018. Research Data Management Series co-sponsored by Office of Research Development.

“Collections Management,” Community Heritage Network, May 11, 2017.

Teaching with Primary Sources and Data Collections,” Faculty Seminar Series with Certificate, UC Merced Center for Research on Teaching Excellence, April 7, 2014.

Digital Tools for Project Management and Collaboration,” Faculty Seminar Series with Certificate, UC Merced Center for Research on Teaching Excellence, October 24, 2013.

Collaborative Environments for Research, Teaching, and Learning,” Teaching and Technology series, UC Merced Center for Research on Teaching Excellence, April 9, 2013.

“Publishing in Academe,” Teaching Matters Workshop, UC Merced Center for Research on Teaching Excellence, April 1, 2010.

Selected White Papers

“The Responsible Stewardship of Research Data: A Roadmap for the University of California, Merced,” submitted to Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, September 4, 2012.

“New Modes for Organizing and Providing Access to Special Collections, Archives, and Digital Formats,” submitted to the Council of University Librarians, September 10, 2010.