Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Subject Databases
We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and books from Japanese sources including the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index. The National Institute of Informatics has compiled 2.8 million PDF articles in NII-ELS. Available in English and Japanese.
JapanKnowledge Lib This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), Kōbunsō Taika Koshomoku and other visual and sound databases.
Recommended General Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Off-Campus & Full-Text Access
Two Important Tips
Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Install and connect to the VPN.
Click on the Get it at UC button to access or request full-text of articles and books.