Databases are organized, searchable collections of information. Library databases cover many different topics and can help you find scholarly articles, videos, books, news, and more.
Where you search will partially determine what you find. It's a good idea to have an awareness of the resources that are available as you work on your research.
1864 - present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Previously International Index to Performing Arts Full Text.
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including: ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).
A collection of five databases focused on film : Film Index International, MLA International Bibliography, Performing Articles Periodicals Database, Periodicals Archive Online, and Periodicals Index Online.
You may want to get more context about your film, so looking in a general database can also help. These databases include work from multidisciplinary sources, so are not focused only on film.
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
