LibGuides: Eng 113 & Span 113 (Martin-Rodriguez): Databases to Start With

Possible Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors. Via ProQuest.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

UC Library Search Link

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Activity Spreadsheet

Try a search in a database that looks interesting and record what you were able to find on the spreadsheet.

What to include:

your research question or topic
possible keywords that you might use to search
what database you used (e.g., JSTOR, UC Library Search, Academic Search Complete, Chicano Database, etc)
what did you find?

(We'll go through these step by step.)

Spreadsheet Link