Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Engineering 30 (Sullivan): RefWorks & Creating Citations

Manage Research - RefWorks

refworks logo

You can manage citations and create bibliographies in any style by using RefWorks.  Watch our library calendar for upcoming RefWorks workshops.

Many resources are available online to assist you in creating correct citations.  The UC Merced Library has listed many on our Citing Sources page.

Create Citations

GreenFile (ESBCO)

  • Check mark articles.
  • Click on the Folder icon (upper right) to view the items.
  • Select the articles in your folder. Save or email.
  • Select the citation style. APA is available.

UC Library Search(All UC's Catalog)

Formatting In-Text Citations/Bibliography

  • Download Write-N-Cite to your computer (Tools > Write-N-Cite)
  • Open a Word document
  • From menu - View > Toolbars > Write-N-Cite
  • Begin writing your paper
  • When it's time to cite an article, Go to Insert Citation > Select Folder > Select Citation > Save
  • Repeat for each in-text citation until paper is finished
  • Select Output Style
  • Click Insert Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography

  • Log in to RefWorks
  • Go to Bibliography > Output Style Manager
  • Select Output Style > Click on Green Arrow to add to Favorites
  • Go back to Bibliography > Create
  • Select the appropriate Output Style
  • References to Include > Select appropriate folder
  • Click Create Bibliography
  • Copy and paste the Bibliography to a Word document

Exporting Citations to RefWorks from ScienceDirect

  • Conduct a search
  • Checkmark items of interest
  • Click Export citations
  • Select RefWorks Direct Export
  • Click Export
  • If you are not logged in to RefWorks, the log-in screen will pop up.
  • Log in if needed.
  • References are automatically saved in Last Imported Folder
  • Checkmark articles and save in desired folder

Exporting Citations to RefWorks from Biosis/Web of Science

    • Conduct a search.
    • Checkmark items of interest.
    • Click on “RefWorks”.
    • If you are not logged in to RefWorks, the log-in screen will pop up.
    • Log in if needed.
    • References will be automatically saved in Last Imported folder.