Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has more than 700 databases where you can search for articles, images, audio files, videos, and more. The list of databases below is just a sampling of what's available. More library databases are available at http://library.ucmerced.edu/research/databases/subject-areas.
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.
Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)
2004 - present. CRS provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. Reports are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
* more topic based than geography based / CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Use Melvyl to Find Books & More
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
When looking at articles in a database, full-text may be immediately available via a PDF or HTML page. If not, use the UCeLinks button.