Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
General Science Databases
Access to databases is available from the library home page using the Quick Search, go to our databases page for other options. Below are direct links to three excellent databases for research in the Natural Sciences, but this is just a sampling of databases you could use.
ScienceDirect provides full text access to articles in the areas of science, technology, medicine and social sciences. Note that article titles are followed by designation of "Review Article" or Original Research Article".
Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)
Web of Science is a comprehensive database of citations from a broad range of topic areas.
PubMed is a database of biomedical references from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed with records extending back to the mid 1960s.
Searching in Science Direct
Searching in ScienceDirect is pretty straightforward, but there are tutorials if you would like to check them out.
Searching Web of Science: Tips & Tricks
Refine your results with Limits
- by Subject Category: select those most closely related to your area of study. Check mark and click "Refine".
- by Document Types: select those you view to view e.g. Article. For instance, you may want ot exclude editorials and letters.
- Try adding metho* (for method, methods, or methodology) to limit to actual research studies.
- By Publication years: especially for topics in the scientific field
Times Cited and Cited Reference
- This information can lead you to other articles related to your topic. Look for "Times Cited" or "Cited References" hyperlinks.
- Use the * symbol to search for variations of a word e.g. treat* for treat, treated, treatment, treatments etc.
Limit the Search to a Specific Field
- The default search is a Topic search. At the main search page, you may choose Title from the drop down menu.
Searching in PubMed: Tips & Tricks
Use MeSH Database (controlled vocabulary) from the National Library of Medicine
- Select MeSH from the search drop down menu (rather than PubMed) or use the MeSH Database link under More Resources
- Enter the common term, e.g. nosebleed, flu, heartburn,
- If more than one term is listed, select the desired term with a check mark
- Or, select subheadings that match your topic interest
- Click Add to search builder
- Search for additional terms if desired, e.g. outbreak, causes, therapy, etc.
- Click Add to search builder
- Click Search PubMed
Limit in a variety of other ways. e.g. by population, language, type of article, age group etc.
Find related articles
- From search result list, see Related citations link under each item
- From individual article records see links to articles under Related citations or click Related Citations under All links from this record