Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Patents: Databases

Information on how to find and access existing patents.

Major Databases for Engineering

ACM Digital Library
Description: Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.

ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
Description: 1990 to present. A collection of materials from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including ASME’s 23 Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.

CITRIS
Description: The Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society — CITRIS — creates information technology solutions for many of our most pressing social, environmental, and health care problems. CITRIS was created to“shorten the pipeline” between world-class laboratory research and the creation of start-ups,larger companies, and whole industries.

COMPENDEX PLUS
Description: 1969- present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

IEEE Xplore
Description: 1913- present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards

INSPEC
Description: 1898-present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Materials Research Society
Description: Materials Research Society (MRS) promotes communication exchange through publication of symposium proceedings, the MRS Bulletin, the Journal of Materials Research, and other publications, databases, and videotapes related to current research activities. 

Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1994-present. Over 5,000 articles from approximately 15 journal titles. Subjects include molecular modeling, natural polymer modification, and liposome stabilization.

Web of Science
Description: Provides multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Web of Science allows you to conduct searches that allow you to see what articles have cited any other article in the database.

Engineering Reference Sources

Access Engineering
Description: Provides access to a large collection of engineering reference materials including Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many others.

ENGnetBASE
Description: A collection of engineering handbooks.

Knovel Library
Description: A reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Description: A reference source with data on approximately 26,000 substances. Used to evaluate the hazardous characteristics of substances. Information on toxicity, flammability, reactivity, and explosive potential is included.

Instruction & Outreach Librarian

Olivia Olivares's picture
Olivia Olivares
Contact:
Kolligian Library
KL 260
(209) 285-7742