Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Goals & Outcomes
You will be able to:
- conduct effective searches
- navigate library resources
- access full-text of resources
- locate citation formatting functionality
Use UC Library Search
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.
Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
Chicano Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Pew Hispanic Center This link opens in a new window
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.
EconLit (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Politics & International Relations: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1974 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 70 journals covering topics such as political theory, area studies, comparative politics and American government.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a rich collection of online video for the study of American History. Includes commercial and government newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries from PBS and the History Channel. Playlists can be created by any registered user.
American Masters This link opens in a new window
Consisting of more than 250 hours of programming to date, AMERICAN MASTERS is a growing film library documenting the role important individuals, groups, and movements have played in the formation of our cultural identity.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum. Presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
A streaming music database which captures America's past through a variety of genres. Includes many artists addressing a range of social issues and historical events. From Alexander Street Press.
Naxos Music Library (NML) This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App subscribers can also access the service on the go.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.
Subjects: American Studies
, Controversial Topics
, Current Events
, Gardening and Horticulture
, Gender and Women's Studies
, Psychology and Cognitive Science