LibGuides: Italian-Start Your Research: Library Resources

Recommended Subject Databases

We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Recommended General Databases

This list includes other starting places for most research topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Learn to Research

UC Merced Library DIY Tutorials
Links to a number of online tutorials, both general and specific, that teach you about accessing information resources and doing library research.
UC Merced Library Workshop Recordings
A complete listing of workshop recordings arranged by topic and presentation date.

Follow this link to get assistance from research librarians
Contact us via email, phone, chat, or to schedule a appointment!

Off-Campus & Full-Text Access

Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Install and connect to the VPN.
Click on the Get it at UC button in databases, Google Scholar, and UC Library Search to access or request full-text of articles and books at no cost!