Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.
A collection of five databases focused on film : Film Index International, MLA International Bibliography, Performing Articles Periodicals Database, Periodicals Archive Online, and Periodicals Index Online.
UC Merced Library
If you are on campus you can find books related to film between PN 1997 and PN 2300. There may be related materials of interest adjacent to that section but feature material focused on radio, television and theater.
Materials related to mental health might be more difficult to pin-point depending on the particular aspect that you are researching. A lot of information could be found in B-BJ (Psychology) on the second floor of the library. If you have any questions at all, or would like help finding a book on your topic. Please book an appointment with a librarian or swing by our second floor services desk. We're always happy to help.
Public Libraries
Most public libraries use a different organization system called the Dewey Decimal System. In these libraries books related to films should be in the 777 section. This page has information on how to use the Dewey Decimal System: https://libguides.pratt.edu/dewey-decimal-system
If the main subject of the work is something other than cinema, they might be cataloged and shelved in sections other than what is listed above. For example, a book about monsters or myths in cinema may be cataloged along with other books about mythology. Sometimes we find wonderful things in the stacks and other times we won't find something unless we search the catalog.
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
1894 - present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
A collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing including journals, texts, study guides and other resources for diagnosis, treatment, research, and professional development in psychiatry and mental health studies.
Collects together data compiled from 177 World Health Organization Member States/Countries on mental health care. Coverage includes policies, plans and laws for mental health, human and financial resources available, what types of facilities providing care, and mental health programmes for prevention and promotion.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
