Journal Citation Reports evaluates journals based on citation data. It measures research influence and calculates impact factor at the journal and category levels and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.
Other services that calculate impact factors that are not held by UC Merced:
Journal Citation Reports evaluates journals based on citation data. It measures research influence and calculates impact factor at the journal and category levels and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
JCR can show you the:
Search by Category
Browse Table of Contents & Issues
The Impact Factor is a measure of the frequency in which the "average article" from a particular journal has been cited in a given period of time. It is one way scholars measure the relative importance of a journal within its field.
Use InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to locate Journal Impact Factors and JIF quartile rankings.
Journal Quartile Rankings
Journal quartile rankings are calculated by the JIF of the journal and dividing it by the number journals in that category to find x. They are then distributed among as follows:
Q1: 0.0 < x ≤ 0.25
Q2: 0.25 < x ≤ 0.5
Q3: 0.5 < x ≤ 0.75
Q4: 0.75 <x
When searching in Web of Science, hover over the journal title in the results list or item record to view the journal's quartile ranking
Image from University of Denver Libraries
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
Web of Science provides the total number of times a published work was cited by other works. The Times Cited view sorts results so that items with the highest numbers of citations are at the top of the results list.
In addition, Web of Science provides filters to limit results to Highly Cited and Hot Papers.
Highly Cited Papers are papers that perform in the top 1% based on the number of citations received when compared to other papers published in the same field in the same year.
Hot Papers are papers published in the last two years that are receiving citations quickly after publication. These papers have been cited enough times in the most recent bimonthly period to place them in the top 0.1% when compared to papers in the same field.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
