It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources, like specialized dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, bibliographies, atlases, and gazetteers, help you answer basic questions, such as definitions, statistical information, procedures, geographic information, and overviews on topics.
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
Search over 250 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Credo Reference: Search Specialized Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume.
Contemporary Youth Culture by Shirley Steinberg (Editor); Priya Parmar; Birgit Richard
Publication Date: 2005-12-30
An international and inter-disciplinary roster of experts shed light by exploring such topics as hip hop culture; punk culture; social justice movements; video games; political activism; language and identity; post-feminism; television; rites of passage; heterosexuality and homosexuality; race and ethnicity; social class; poetry and literature; visual art; conceptions of beauty and body image; academics; sports; drugs; families; refugee youth; the Internet; youth journalism; fashion; and violence.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Social Movements by David A. Snow (Editor); Sarah A. Soule (Editor); Hanspeter Kriesi (Editor); Holly J. McCammon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
The most up-to-date and thorough compendium of scholarship on social movements.
Countercultures and Popular Music by Sheila Whiteley; Jedediah Sklower
Publication Date: 2014-06-16
This volume provides an essential new academic scrutiny of the concept of 'counterculture' and a critical examination of the period and its heritage.
Tapestry: the history and consequences of America's complex culture by Jerry Carrier
Publication Date: 2014-10-25
This book explores the contributions of Hispanic, Black, Native American, Jewish and other cultures to a nation where many people still focus on the influences of Christian, capitalist, and ethnically European (particularly British) heritage. American culture has been both inclusive and intolerant. Now it stands at a crossroad and must decide what road to take. Are we to enter a renaissance or a dark age?
Millions of electronic books are now temporarily available to UC Merced users through the HathiTrust Digital Library’s Emergency Temporary Access Services (HT ETAS). By providing University of California students, faculty, and staff with access to digital versions of the printed volumes held by any campus library in the University of California system, this service helps UC Merced Library continue to serve its mission of teaching, research and learning in spite of the COVID-19 pandemic and the cascade of disruptions that have followed.
To take advantage of this temporary expanded access:
Select “University of California, Merced” and log in using your UCMNetID.
Search the HathiTrust digital library to locate the item you wish to view. (Be sure to choose the Catalog search option—not the “Full-text” option—in order to access all the books available via HT ETAS.)
Click on the Temporary Access link at the bottom of the record to Check Out the item through the Emergency Temporary Access Service.
One of the copyright restrictions placed on HT ETAS is the prohibition against downloading. However, you can download images of individual pages for note taking and other purposes. How to copy a page will vary depending on the operating system you use, but in general this involves clicking on a page image and saving it to your hard drive as an image.
It can be clumsy to go from page to page using the default Scroll Page Scans view. The Flip Page Scans view offers an alternative that makes moving from page to page and reading easier.