Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating dissertations and theses in North America
ProQuest PQDT Open
A huge collection of dissertations and theses written at universities across the United States for academic credit. The database pulls its contents from universities and colleges with institutional digital repositories.
Open Dissertations (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1902 - present. Offers access to a free electronic theses and dissertations database with over 800,000 ETDs from colleges worldwide. Previously American Doctoral Dissertations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
1861 - present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.
Theses Canada Portal
All theses and dissertations accepted and published for academic credit by universities in Canada. Free access to theses and dissertations published from 1998 to the present.
Locating dissertations and theses in Asia and Australia
Dissertations of China (DOC) This link opens in a new window
Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Browse by discipline or search Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request.
The English-language portal for RISS Internationa. RISS houses dissertations and theses written at 150 universities in South Korea for academic credit. (NOTE: not all are in English.)
Trove - National Library of Australia
A collaboration between the National Library of Australia, colleges and universities around Australia, and universities in Singapore and Malaysia. Click "Research" in the menu, then choose "Research and Reports" from the "All Categories" option at the right side of the searchbox to find dissertations and theses.
Locating dissertations and theses in Europe
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
From the website: "The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments." NOTE: Many of the dissertations and theses found here are not in English.
EThOS - From the British Library
Over 500,000 doctoral dissertations from universities in the United Kingdom.
LSE Theses Online - from the London School of Economics and Political Science
LSE A partial collection of doctoral dissertations written for academic credit by students at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Not all dissertations have been digitized.
Multinational collections of dissertations and theses
Center for Research Libraries: International dissertations
CRL's Global Resources Network makes a large collection of theses and dissertations from around the world available to library patrons. However, these are available mostly through interlibrary loan. Contact UC Merced Library's Interlibrary Loan service (http://library.ucmerced.edu/use/borrowing/ill) to borrow these.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
From the website: "OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,218,230 theses and dissertations."
Instruction & Outreach Librarian