Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LibWizard Academic Search Complete Tutorial
Academic Search Complete Tutorial
1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus. You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.
2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial. Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there. It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.
3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).
Academic Search Complete Tutorial >> https://ucmercedlibrary.libwizard.com/f/academic-search-complete
Recommended Subject Databases
These may be helpful places to start. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research , SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1947 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 100 journal titles. Subjects include strategic management, human resource development, labor economics and interpersonal communication.
Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of business-related ebooks created by experts for non-experts. Subject areas include marketing, human resource management, entrepreneurship, small business management, public relations, consumer behavior, business ethics and more. Via iG Library.
Factiva Access This link opens in a new window
Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1984 - present. WSJ is the worlds leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
COMPENDEX PLUS This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
Head, Access Services/ Librarian
Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics
, Computer Science
, Engineering (Aerospace)
, Engineering (Biological)
, Engineering (Civil)
, Engineering (Environmental)
, Engineering (General)
, Engineering (Mechanical)
, Science (Environmental)
, Science (General)
, Science (Material)