A-Z Databases

1894 - present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.

1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources including MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and Bookshelf. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Bookshelf. MEDLINE articles are indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Use Get it at UC to locate the full text when not otherwise available.

(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Grants access to over 7 million records describing archival materials on historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more, with over 1,400 archival institutions represented,

Access to the publication's archives featuring reviews and interviews about artists and exhibitions as well as coverage of adjacent cultural forms, including architecture, film, fashion, photography and music.

Provides access to the catalog for the Bibliothèque nationale de France. New search interface allows simultaneous search of Gallica, Bibliothèque du Haut-de-jardin, Salle Ovale, and the Bibliothèque de Recherche.

A collection of six databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

1945 - 1966. Access to U.S. State Department working papers, annotated memoranda, verbatim transcripts, drafts, and other informal material not preserved in the Central Files due to sensitivity or confidentiality. This collection covers the U.S. occupation of Japan following World War II, development of postwar Japan, the San Francisco Peace Conference of 1951, and economic conditions in Japan; the Korean War, peace negotiations, U.S.-Korea relations, and the rebuilding of South Korea after the end of fighting in the Korean War; military and economic relations between Japan, Korea, and the U.S. in the 1950s; Nationalist and anti-colonial resistance movements in Vietnam, Indonesia, and Malaya; and efforts to establish a Southeast Asia Treaty Organization.

Access to primary source materials focused on the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II, but also related to the history and progress of Japanese Americans in their communities throughout the 20th century. Via the 23-campus California State University system archives, and other, similar collections across the state.

Access to a digital repository of historic photographs, oral histories, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials focusing on the WWII incarceration of Japanese-Americans and its aftermath.

A collection of digitized pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, and postcards originally created by social activists, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations in Latin American and Caribbean. Most are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere. Via Princeton University.

Access to the digitized collections of Keio University Libraries, including Japanese historical manuscripts (Komonjo), Japanese medical books, natural history, and Chinses classics. Available in both Japanese and English.

Lists companies that maintain their historical records and libraries that contain business records, as well as the archives of professional associations as these collections document various industries and companies that may be of use to corporate archivists.

1875 - 1959. Access to California's Fire Insurance Maps (FIMs) dating from roughly 1875-1950s. Users can search the platform using an interactive map search or by place name, and download full resolution map sheets. The platform also offers a project folder to save and view maps from multiple locations at once,  markup tools for notations on the maps, and various research tools for a quick reference to additional information about the maps, such as indexes or corrections. Via  Historical Information Gatherers.

A collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history in Rwanda and post-genocide reconstruction processes.

1860 - 1960. A photographic collection documenting African life, European life in Africa, and the African landscape as it has changed over time. Included are photographs showing the building of East Africa’s railways, the growth of its urban centers and the development of European colonial administration, providing a resource for the study of the history of photography in East Africa.

1946 - 1960. Contains the formerly classified proposals that, when approved by the president, became the military and foreign policies of the United States, offering a behind-the-scenes view of the highest levels of U.S. military decision-making. This collection covers the early years of the Cold War, focusing on the threat of Soviet expansion, Europe and NATO, the Chinese Civil War, the Korean War, the beginnings of the nuclear arms race, and the Arab-Israeli conflict and other developments in the Middle East.

A digital collection with both Western and Asian manuscripts and letters dating from the Early Middle Ages until the present time. The Western part consists of manuscripts written in Latin, Greek and Cyrillic script. The Eastern part consists of manuscripts from regions as diverse as the Middle East and North Africa, the Jewish World, South and Southeast Asia, and East Asia.

A digitized collection of rare Persian language manuscripts, lithographic books and early imprint via the Library of Congress, comprising works in many disciplines, but with a focus of historical and literary works.

Allows research across multiple National Archives resources, including archival descriptions, digitized and electronic records, and authority records.

Access to millions of historical documents created and collected by UK central government departments and major courts of law.

Access to historical newsletters and past administration work of the largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities. Searchable by tribe, keyword, newsletter and resolution.

Access to UC Merced's digital collections of rare or unique materials that focus largely on the varied histories of the San Joaquin Valley and Sierra Nevada regions, on the research and scholarly interests of the UC Merced academic community, and our ongoing University of California Cooperative Extension Archive project.

Access to a compendium of peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries via Oxford University Press. Subscribed content covers a wide range of subjects spanning the humanities and social sciences.

Provides access to over 550 humanities and social science books from several university presses with full open access.

1964 - 2003. Access to digitized British newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

1903 - 2010. Access to digitized newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

1846 - 2010. Access to digitized newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

1919 - 2010. Access to digitized newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

1949 - 2010. Access to digitized St. Louis newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

1893 - 2010. Access to digitized newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

Access to studies on health insurance, health care reform, and health information technology, as well as obesity, substance use disorders, and PTSD.

Provides access to the digitized content of the archives of the American University in Cairo, focused on arts, culture, history and society of Egypt and the Middle East.

Access to one of the largest oral history archives in the South and one of the top collections in the country. Contains more than 900 interviews with Native Americans including Seminoles, Cherokees, and Creeks. Other major holdings include the Joel Buchanan Archive of African American Oral History, Civil Rights action in St. Augustine (1964), and the University of Florida. Over 100 oral histories from the Matheson Museum are included.

Documents the social, cultural, religious, political, and economic life of members of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora. Includes Southeast Asian American experiences of resettlement and community formations since the Vietnam War, Cambodian Genocide, and geopolitical turmoil in the former French-occupied "Indochina" in the latter half of the 20th century. Via UC Irvine.

A collection of 165 interviews with 1700 pages of accompanying transcripts and indices documenting Chinese American history and experience in the greater Los Angeles area mainly prior to World War Two. Jointly sponsored by the UCLA Asian American Studies Center (AASC) and the Chinese Historical Society of Southern California. 

1775 - 1915. Access to records of tobacco and cotton plantations in North Carolina and Virginia as well as Tennessee, Kentucky, and Alabama. The lives of enslaved people are documented via extensive lists of enslaved people, purchase of and sale agreements, plantation diaries, account books, correspondence, and financial and legal papers. 
 

1874 - 1949. Access to biographical information, family and personal correspondence, writings by Wise, and records of his activism. Coverage includes religious issues, particularly relating to Reform Judaism; political issues such as civil rights, crime, education, elections, employment, housing, and Wise’s work with the American Jewish Congress; and international issues such as refugees, Zionism, Palestine and Israel, the League of Nations, and United Nations.

Access to a repository of Mexican and Mexican American popular and vernacular recordings containing over 100,000 recordings. Via UCLA.

Provides access to resources regarding Utah’s Indian tribes, including articles, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps pertaining to the Northwestern Shoshone, Goshute, Paiute, Utah Navajo, White Mesa, and Ute Indians.

Authoritative bibliographic data on people, places, and subjects. Name headings are assigned to identify people who use pseudonyms, nonstandard spellings, transliterated names. Subject headings systematically describe the topic(s) of materials held by the National Diet Library of Japan.

1941 - 1946. A collection consisting of the correspondence, case records, field reports from regional offices, minutes of FEPC meetings, internal studies, memoranda, and individual worker’s records.