This page lists several common writing style guides and links to the official style manuals (or handbooks) from the UC Library Search catalog. Some are available in print and some are eBooks. If a book is listed on "Course Resources," then it is typically available by request at the 2nd Floor Library Services Desk for a 2-hour loan.
Freely available and trustworthy guidance can be found on websites like the Purdue OWL or the Excelsior OWL, but the official style manuals should be consulted for any doubts or where the online sites fail to provide guidance.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed. by
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"-- Provided by publisher.
Contents
Formatting your research project -- Mechanics of prose -- Principles of inclusive language -- Documenting sources : an overview -- The list of works cited -- Citing sources in the text -- Notes -- Appendix 1. Abbreviations -- Appendix 2. Works-cited-list entries by publication format.
Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices. Includes fully searchable Q & A content, and Tools such as sample correspondence, proofreaders marks, and a quick guide to citation.
AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed. by
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style. Available for institutional purchase or subscription or individual subscription. Visit AMAManualofStyle.com or contact your sales rep for more details.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
