Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Know Your Organization
Look at your organization's About section to learn more about its purposes and history. Knowing about your organization is crucial to the grant-writing process.
Stats Search Tip
You can use Google to find statistics. Consider limiting your search results to websites that end with .edu, .org, or .gov by adding site:.edu, site:.org, or site:.gov to the end of your search string.
Here are some examples of searches.
Know Your Community
You also need to know about the community and groups your organization serves.
Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.
Back Up Your Claims
You will also need evidence to support how your project would benefit the community. Find articles and books through library databases related to the arts, education, psychology, etc.
Here are some examples of relevant databases.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
The Arts (Proquest)
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).
Education Source (EBSCO)
Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Melvyl @ UC Merced
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, , and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Organizations Search Tip
Leverage the expertise of organziations. Many professional associations, advocacy groups, and initiatives also link to research and resources that could be helpful.
Here are some examples.
Association for Library Service to Children
The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is the world's largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children.
First 5 California
At First 5 California, we fund programs that educate parents, grandparents, caregivers, and teachers about the critical role they play during a child’s first five years.
List from Reading Rockets, which is a "national multimedia literacy initiative offering information and resources on how young kids learn to read, why so many struggle, and how caring adults can help."
California Alliance for Arts Education
The California Alliance for Arts Education advocates for high quality arts education for all students by providing policy expertise and by mobilizing a statewide network of advocates and allied partners.