Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find a Grant
Here are a few places to locate grants.
California Arts Council
The California Arts Council invests in California nonprofit organizations and units of government via competitive grant programs, administered through a multistep public process.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government.
Central Valley Community Foundation
For more than fifty years the Central Valley Community Foundation has been a trusted partner in philanthropy in the Valley. Founded in 1966, we provide giving options for individuals, families, businesses and other foundations to invest in programs that address social and environmental needs.
Community Foundation of Merced County
The Community Foundation of Merced County establishes a competitive grant budget from its unrestricted funds.
Grants.gov is a repository for information on all federal grant-funding programs.
Merced County First Five
Mini grants are available for programs benefiting children from birth to age 5.
National Endowment for the Arts
Established by Congress in 1965, the NEA is the independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities.
U.S. Department of Education
The U.S. Department of Education has three types of grants, including discretionary grants, which are the kind you want to search for on behalf of your nonprofit.
Foundation Directory Online
Foundation Directory Online (FDO) is a database that helps nonprofits find the grantmakers most likely to fund their projects. This tool includes grantmaker information and funding history.
We are working on getting a free trial of this database, but there are a few places in the Central Valley (none in Merced) where you can use the database in-person.
- The Modesto Library branch of the Stanislaus County Library (1500 I Street, Modesto) offers the FDO database for in-person use. Contact the Library at 209.558.7800 for more information.
- The Central Library branch of the Fresno County Public Library (2420 Mariposa Street, Fresno) offers the FDO database for in-person use. Contact the Library at for more information.
- The Central Valley Foundation Center's Center for Research in Fresno offers the FDO database and grantstation.com for in-person use. Contact email@example.com about accessing the Center for Research.
Find more libraries and organizations that provide access by visiting http://foundationcenter.org/ask-us/find-us.
You can also run searches in Google to find grant opportunities. Here are some examples:
The idea is that you need try a number of keywords and combinations. You can even try to include geographic terms like California or Merced to pinpoint state or local opportunities. Mix and match!
Don't know what AND and OR do to your search?
Curious about the use of quotation marks in your searches?
See Boolean, Truncation, and Quotes under the Using Search Strategies tab to learn more.