Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 119 (Kennedy): Engineering Databases

COMPENDEX

COMPENDEX PLUS contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. Its focus is on engineering and applied science.

To search: open COMPENDEX PLUS and search using the bar at the top of the screen. You can narrow your search using the limiters with dropdown arrows below the search.

Limiter options include:

  • Date
  • Language
  • Document Type, etc.

To see subject categories, click "Browse Indexes" and then "Controlled Term." Enter a term to see what the database calls it.

 

 

GOTS: Finding Databases for Research

Finding Databases for Research

GOTS tutorial teal

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Finding Databases for Research >> http://ucmercedlibrary.info/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/searchtools-databases

IEEE

IEEE Xplore Digital Library offers full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Included are journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and transactions.

To search: open IEEE and enter in your search terms. You can see limiters on the lefthand side of the screen.

Limiter options include:

  • Date
  • Author
  • Affiliation 
  • Index Terms, etc.

You can create a free account and save your search history. A dictionary of standards terms will appear to the right of your search. Clicking "Advanced Search" gives you more searching options.

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and eBooks from off campus.

Visit library.ucmerced.edu/use/technology/vpn to download the VPN.

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

Inspec

Inspec includes materials from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

To search: open Inspec and use either the basic or advanced search. If you use the basic search, you have the option to narrow down your results from the results page.

Limiter options include:

  • Date
  • Classification
  • Document type
  • Author, etc.

You can see results sorted by times cited / date published / relevance, etc. at the top of the list of results.

Ask a Librarian

Contact Us! 

librarians

Research Appointment
library@ucmerced.edu
209-228-4444