Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 118 (Maharaj): Find a Known Item

Management Communication

Finding Known Items - Suggestions

If you have a known item, it can be helpful to first determine what the item is e.g. article, book, pamphlet, song, dissertation etc.  At times, this may influence where you look for the item.

1) Melvyl @ UC Merced

  • includes a wide range of formats and goes beyond UC's collection
  • can Request easily from records in this catalog

2) Google Scholar

  • includes many articles and references to books, a quick way to check for article titles though it is not exhaustive
  • includes citations from JSTOR

3) eJournal Finder

  • includes coverage details for periodicals (newspapers, journals, and magazines)

4) HathiTrust Digital Library

  • citations and some full-text, search a large collection of digitized books etc.
  • a Title search is available
  • pre-1923 content available in full-text
  • may end up in HathiTrust from Melvyl @ UC Merced

Find a Specific Article

Have an article you want to read? Discover two key ways to find a specific article- Google Scholar and Melvyl. Length (1:59)

Known Items

Try it Out:  Do we have these resources?

1) Harrison, Mark, "The Economics of World War II: Six Great Powers in International Comparison", Cambridge University Press (1998).

2) Kerin, Roger A, Steven W. Hartley, and William Rudelius. Marketing. Boston: McGraw-Hill/Irwin, 2009.

3) Larsen, Hanne H. Cases in Marketing. London: Sage Publications, 1997.

4) "International Subscontracting and the Production of Athletic Footwear" by R. Barff, J Austen from Environment and Planning A, 1993 volume 25 (8) 1103 – 1114

5) "Does Monitoring Improve Labor Standards-Lessons from Nike"by RM Lock, F Qin, A Brause from Industrial and Labor Relations Review Vol 61, No. 1, October 2007 pg. 3-31