Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 117 (Pravin): Annotated Bibliographies

Writing for the Social Sciences and Humanities

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography Example (OWL, Purdue Online Writing Lab)

  • an example in MLA related to stem cell research

Annotated Bibliography Samples (OWL, Purdue Online Writing Lab)

  • examples are given for the following styles: MLA, APA, and CMS (Chicago Manual of Style)

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated Bibliographies - MLA Style

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography - MLA Style (Library, University of Maryland University College)

  • describes annotations including two major types: 1) descriptive or informative; 2) analytical or critical

Writing An Annotated Bibliography (Library, University of Guelph)

  • describes an annotated bibliography's purposes and notes that preferred types of annotated bibliographies in the arts, social sciences, and sciences; provides examples of citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago

A Guide to Annotated Bibliographies (George Mason University, The Writing Center)

  • divides citations into three types (summary, evaluation, reflection) and provides sample annotations

MLA Examples (The Writing Center, The University of North Caroline at Chapel Hill)

  • sample annotations (informative, indicative, evaluative, custom, telescopic, and paragraph)

Writing an Annotated Bibliography (Writing Advice, University of Toronto)

  • defines an annotated bibliography and gives an example of summarizing vs. identifying the argument; provides verbs for discussing texts & arguments

Write an Annotated Bibliography (Robert E. Kennedy Library, Cal Poly)

  • distinguishes between abstracts and annotations; provides one brief descriptive annotation (APA) and one evaluative annotation (APA)