Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 117 (Pravin): Abstracts

Writing for the Social Sciences and Humanities

About Abstracts

slide about abstracts

based on information from Abstracts (The Writing Center, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Abstract Examples - Humanities

To view these abstracts, connect via the VPN if off campus.

Abstract Sample A: Apparel manufacturing is the largest contributor to Haiti's export sector, employing about 30,000 people .... (See full abstract.)

from Lewis, Tasha L. & Pringle, Anne. "Local Buttons: Sustainable Fashion and Social Entrepreneurship in Haiti." Nka: Journal of Contemporary African Art, vol. 37, 2015, pp. 114-125. Project MUSE, muse.jhu.edu/article/605646.

Abstract Sample B: The Miqqut project was a participatory action research project through which Inuit language and literacy learning was embedded ... (See full abstract.)

from Tulloch, Shelley & Kusugak, Adriana & Chenier, Cayla & Pilakapsi, Quluaq & Uluqsi, Gloria & Walton, Fiona. "Transformational Bilingual Learning: Re-Engaging Marginalized Learners through Language, Culture, Community, and Identity." The Canadian Modern Language Review / La revue canadienne des langues vivantes, vol. 73 no. 4, 2017, pp. 438-462. Project MUSE, muse.jhu.edu/article/678835.

Abstract Sample C: The degree to which individual with cochlear implants (CIs) experience communication difficulties has implications for social participation .... (See full abstract.)

from Chapman, Madeleine & Dammeyer, Jesper. "The Relationship Between Cochlear Implants and Deaf Identity." American Annals of the Deaf, vol. 162 no. 4, 2017, pp. 319-332. Project MUSE, doi:10.1353/aad.2017.0030

Abstract Examples - Social Sciences

To view these abstracts, connect via the VPN if off campus.

Abstract Sample A: The notion that a positive and negative affect can co-exist is described as affect complexity.  According ot the Dynamic Model of Affect, stressful events decrease affect complexity.  This study examined whether disliked music acts on its listeners ... " (See full abstract.)

Bodner, E., & Bensimon, M. (2016). The impact of disfavoured music on affect complexity in young adults. Psychology of Music, 44(4), 864-879. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0305735615594492

Abstract Sample B: Purpose -- The purpose of this paper is to examine the effects of leadership styles on financial performance. (See full abstract.)

Tran, X. (2017). Effects of leadership styles on hotel financial performance. Tourism and Hospitality Management, 23(2), 163-183. Retrieved from https://hrcak.srce.hr/index.php?show=clanak&id_clanak_jezik=278693

Abstract Sample C: Objective - We aim to test the hypothesis that college students provide Democratic candidates with greater electoral support and whether this varies ... (See full abstract.)

from Ardoin, P. J., Bell, C. S., & Ragozzino, M. M. (2015). The partisan battle over college student voting: An analysis of student voting behavior in federal, state, and local elections. Social Science Quarterly, 96(5), 1178-1195. Retrieved from https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/ssqu.12167

BONUS: Multiple abstract examples from Journal of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Instruction to Authors

Journals provide instructions to authors to clarify how abstracts are submitted. View these examples to find out what some publishers want (or don't want) in article abstracts.

How to Write an Abstract Step by Step

Bright Side video 9:19.  View timestamps below to skip to a specific section.

TIMESTAMPS

  • Find out the requirements 0:55
  • Pick the right abstract type 1:42
  • Consider your readers 3:27
  • Explain the importance of your research 4:10
  • Explain the problem and your methods 4:45
  • Avoid copy-pasting 5:19
  • Keep it well-structured and logical 6:15
  • Include key phrases and words 7:00
  • Sum it up 7:49
  • Editing and proofreading 8:18

How to Write an Abstract for a Research Paper

WordVice video 7:28 Distinguishes between descriptive and informative abstracts. Refers to five sections of the abstract: purpose/motivation, problem, methods, results, conclusion/implications. For each of these sections, sample sentences are given.  The narrator ends with useful tips for writing an abstract.