Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Melvyl to Find Books & More
Melvyl @ UC Merced
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Produces reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
Roper Center iPOLL
A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, metropolitan statistical area (MSA), postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Previously LexisNexis Academic.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Social Issues / Hot Topics
Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)
2004 - present. CRS provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. Reports are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.
NewsBank Hot Topics
Access to articles on current global issues in regards to business, economics, crime, politics and more. Updated monthly, with previous months archived.
NewsBank: Special Reports
NewsBank's Special focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.