Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 101 (Webb): Selecting Search Tools

Writing in the Disciplines: Psychology

Choosing Databases

The UC Merced Library has over 700 databases. It can be overwhelming to decide, but there are two things you can do to help.

  • Use the All Subjects limiter in the database A-Z list (Databases tab on the library website) to pinpoint databases related to a certain subject area.
  • Read through the recommended database descriptions to see what kind of content the databases contain.

Key Databases

Comparison of PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES

  PsycInfo PsycArticles
Subject Psychology (behavioral and social sciences) Psychology
Resources Included / Indexed peer-reviewed journal articles (80%), books, (3%) book chapters (8%), and dissertations (12%) peer-reviewed journal articles
Citations Only or Full-Text or a Mix Mix (leans more towards Citations Only) Full-Text
Scope / Size ~2,500 journals; 4 million records; some historic records ~110 journals; 1/4 million records
Functionality same e.g. ability to limit to empirical articles, thesaurus available; citing capabilties including export to RefWorks same e.g. ability to limit to empirical articles, thesaurus available; citing capabilties including export to RefWorks

* both databases are produced by the American Psychological Association (APA)

Finding Databases at UC Merced